the great tassie fog

Just over a month ago now, I made my first visit to Tasmania. It appears that I chose the foggiest and rainiest week to visit.  True.

I didn’t know this but Hobart has the lowest rainfall average of any australian capital city.  It sure didn’t look like it while I was there.  But the fog… well that was something else –

DSC_0062a copy

Such a beautiful city perched along the banks of the Derwent don’t you think??!

Despite the unfriendly weather, I absolutely fell in love with the place.

A lot of time I was there I spent photographing landscape projects for an amazing company called Inspiring Place so didn’t end up taking too many shots for myself except these couple…

DSC_0115

DSC_0172aa copy

like I said… it was foggy 🙂

The real highlight of my trip was catching up with my fabulous friends Rebecca and Bill and their two gorgous girls Ruth and Grace.  I’ve known Bec since school, and have shared many amazing times with her and her family, but I realised quite astonishingly that I hadn’t photographed them as a family before.  So I took the opportunity of having Hobart as a backdrop to update the family album.  Luckily the rain held out for a couple of hours and we got some lovely shots.

These couple were taken at gorgeous old town called Richmond.

doblo-1014aa

doblo-1015f

These two girls are not only the cutest little people you’re ever likely to meet, they are also the nicest darn kids I have ever encountered… ever.  They are both increadibly smart, funny and are well mannered to boot (well except for Grace’s notorious bottom burps which seemed to have a mind – and fragrance – all of their own 🙂 )

doblo-1027a

doblo-1028

doblo-1026a

doblo-1038a

doblo-1031aa

doblo-1041a

doblo-1049

We wanted to do some shots around the Salamanca markets, but it was raining when we arrived, so tried somewhere else closeby…

I do love a good old brick wall.

doblo-1075

I also love winter because you get to wear wooly hats and stripey jumpers 🙂

doblo-1083a

doblo-1092aa

doblo-1112a

doblo-1109aa

we stopped for a quick coffee in a very funky retro cafe (with lundromat attached… how convenient!)

doblo-1115

doblo-1118

doblo-1120a

and finally got some pics with some of that old Hobart stone wall character at Salamanca place once the rain eased a little…

doblo-1128aa

doblo-1131a

doblo-1136a

doblo-1137

doblo-1140aa

doblo-1154

doblo-1157a

doblo-1163 copya

doblo-1168

doblo-1174

doblo-1176a

doblo-1179a

And let’s face it… what kind of photoshoot would it be if there wasn’t a whole lotta goofy jumping around shots…?

doblo-1190a

doblo-1191a

doblo-1195a

doblo-1197

doblo-1201

doblo-1209aa

doblo-1212

what a gorgeous family…  Any one else wanting family portraits in Hobart – I am available to travel… just try to sort the weather out before I come 🙂

2 Replies to “the great tassie fog”

  1. Wow!
    I love your fog, its funky fog. You do so well in foggy conditions!
    And the kids look divine, I love the hats and the wall.
    xx

Leave a Reply

