The Wednesday Experiment issue #4

– unexpected outcomes –

a couple of weeks ago I made a little trip to Hobart.  It wasn’t the first time I’ve been… I took these gorgeous portraits last time I was there.

Essentially I went to visit some dear friends (hello to the Hobartian Doblos) but I made sure I had time to just explore and photograph this glorious place.

Needless to say I was pretty excited… days of blissful no pressure photography in one of the prettiest cities in Australia…

So why the hell did I find it so hard??  (the photography that is…)

well I’m not really sure, but I think it was something about my expectations. I think Hobart is one of the most magical places in the world, and I had plans to take some beautiful landscapes, and capture some of those amazing old buildings in the city.

But once I got there, my mind kind of went in to overdrive… I’m thinking – yeah I need to get a sunrise shot of the harbour… or wait maybe sunset… no no not the harbour… I need a long exposure of Salamanca Place in the early morn then go to the harbour and then –

So what in fact happened was that I kind of paralysed myself in to not really shooting much at all.  I lugged my camera every where of course and saw beautiful captivating things.  And I still got up early a couple of times, looked at my camera gear and proceeded to go for a jog instead, and marvelled at the exquisite sunrise as I ran.  Strange.

I tend to do this a lot.  Perhaps I am overwhelmed by how beautiful the scene is before me.  Sometimes I just want to leave it and experience it, and rest my through-the-camera-eyes.  And often I do just this.  Which is ok.

But on account of this Wednesday experiment thing, I pushed myself to take photos, even though they didn’t come easily.  I didn’t get that oh-my-god-I-totally-nailed-that-shot feeling.  Not at all.  but I am happy that I made the effort and I am happy with the results, even though they are not what I had in mind.

6 Replies to “The Wednesday Experiment issue #4”

  1. Young gwasshoppah, it’s not about the view from the top of the mountian but the climb you took to get there. I think the first one is great. I have those kinds of days ALL the time, and if this is the standard of what comes out when you’re not feeling it then watch out world when you are.

  2. I would hate to see it when you have an “on” day.
    Your honesty is a refreshing change from the usual rhetoric we hear in our industry.
    Love your leaf and the little hill mounds. Fabulously Broderick! As always.

    1. Kirsty, thank you so much for stopping by and commenting! Wish you were closer to Bris so we could do a family sesh with your little man…

Leave a Reply

