the wednesday experiment issue # 14


If you haven’t been here before, the wednesday experiment is a regular feature where I explore the random, spontaneous, and purely artistic side of my personal photography practice.  I try not to let it be about the finished product, rather about the process. It is about challenging myself as a photographer, regardless of the outcome.


ok I realise I should probably call this the “thursday experiment”… or perhaps I should have called it just “the experiment” to accommodate my rather loose definition of wednesday…  However I did actually shoot these yesterday (wednesday) so I am still feeling justified in calling it “the wednesday experiment” … at least for another week.

enough excuses…

Now that I am a couple of months in to this little project, I have noticed a couple of things –

1) every week, almost without fail, I have a panic attack and wonder what the hell I could possibly find to photograph.

2) every week so far with out fail, I have found something new and interesting to photograph

3) I have started to look at most objects and scenes in my immediate surrounds in terms of a possible photo.  I used to do this years ago when photography was just a hobby.

So this is all very cool.  I’m happy.

This week I give you ” a couple of things I’ve seen on my morning run”

pretty flowers (of which I shall post more of next week)

and some pretty weeds…

and YAY! it’s Jacaranda time in Brisbane!

Sometimes I think Jacaranda season is as close as we get to an autumn in Brisbane (even though it happens in spring)

Like a change of season in southern states, the familiar landscapes suddenly burst with colour…

the Jacaranda blossoms mark the passing of time for me… which is always a little bitter sweet.

Another cool tree around these parts is the Frangipani.  It’s a pretty ugly tree over winter, but right now if you look around you’ll find they are in the middle of a pretty cool transformation that will visually confirm the summertime very very soon.

Happy Thursday to you

8 Replies to “the wednesday experiment issue # 14”

  1. Nete, you MUST come and photo the jacaranda at Sydney University in about a month. It is the most amazing tree in the middle of the sandstone quadrangle… takes your breath away!!! (Sort of like your photos really!!!)

  2. mmmmm sounds like an important business trip to me…! Our Jacarandas are a little sad looking at the moment because of all the rain. I miss Sydney 🙂

Leave a Reply

